University Heights Lions Club - Jonesboro Arkansas 72401

University Heights Lions Club

Chartered 1963

Jonesboro, Arkansas

University Heights Lions Club - Jonesboro Arkansas




Fund Raisers




Weekly Bulletin

Bulletin Archives

Tuesday - March 2, 2010


Lion Tail Twister Bill Dickens (#38) won the pot on the first drawing.

Attendance was 19 members plus 2 guests.  David Redmon, Jr was a guest of his father Lion Dave Redmon.


We now have 59 cars registered for our car show.  The next Car Show Committee meeting will be Tuesday, March 8 at 6:30 PM at the Forest Home Church of the Nazarene.  We are needing door prizes and goody bag stuffers.


The State Convention will be April 23 & 24 at the Airport Holiday Inn in Little Rock.  If you plan to attend, advise Lion Secretary Pat so he can pre-register you and save the club a few dollars on registration.  The club will pay the registration fee for any member attending the convention.


Our speaker this week was Jonesboro Chief of Police Michael Yates.  Chief Yates talked to the club about financing needs for the Police and Fire Departments and the effect of the short fall in the collection of sales taxes and the state turn back funds which the police and fire departments depend on for their operations.  There was a 20% reduction of these funds in the past fiscal year.  This may result in a reduction of personnel in the police department.


The Board of Directors meeting will be Thursday, March 11 at 6:30 AM at Annís Restaurant.


The Nominating Committee has nominated the following slate of officers for 2010-2011:

President                                 Brad Baker

1st Vice President                    Larry Hinck

2nd Vice President                   Curt Hodges

3rd Vice President                    Robert Bahn

 Secretary                                 Charles Hartwig

Treasurer                                 Ron Erwin

Tail Twisters                            Ken Stallings, Bill Dickens, Tony Bari

Lion Tamers                    Jim Mashburn, Eric Grant, Don   Vineyard 

1 Yr Director                   David Hamilton, Jim Watkins, Bill Levins

2 Yr Director                   Vern Drake, Tommy White, Pat Snodgrass

Membership Chairman            Randy Dent


March Programs and Speakers:

 March 9                       ASU Equine Center Director Nathan Wells

 March 16                     Business Meeting

 March 23                     Lt. Robert Speer, Arkansas State Police

 March 30            Sandra Taylor and Cory   Martin,  Craighead County Election Comm.



P O BOX 1991
PHONE AND FAX (870) 932-1364




Want to help the sight & hearing impaired?

Join Now

Contact: Membership Committee Members


Make a Donation

Thank You!